jump to navigation

Ayn Rand is too important to ignore February 22, 2007

Posted by sdpurtill in Ayn Rand.
trackback

I don’t agree with a lot of the teachings of Objectivism since I believe in God, but I think Ayn Rand’s works should be read by every student in high school. I am going to quote Nathaneal Branden (one of her early followers) from this video.

In 1991, the Library of Congress in cooperation with the Book of the Month club did a national survey of readers, of which the purpose was to determine which books had had the biggest life changing impact on American lives. And the NYT printed the results, which were these:

#1 – The Bible
#2 – Atlas Shrugged
#5 – The Fountainhead

So here are two books of the top 10 that most had an impact on changing American lives were written by Ayn Rand.

Two of her books in the TOP 10 most life changing books, and yet you will never once hear of any Ayn Rand books in school (unless you have friends that read her stuff). She’s too extreme though, I don’t agree with all her stuff. I may write a post about it one day, but I am going to re-read Atlas Shrugged before I do.

Comments»

1. Emote - February 25, 2007

I definitely need to go pick up some of her stuff. I read the article on her on Wikipedia and I’ve wanted to get one or two of her books since. Always forgot her name though, thanks for reminding me.

2. Ergo - February 26, 2007

Hi there. I came across your site from my dashboard’s “Tag Surfing” feature.
I agree with you that Ayn Rand is too hard to ignore and that she was a radical (in all the proper and positive sense of that word). Some of her ideas have now become part of the mainstream, yet she stands as still one of the more original and radical thinkers of recent times.

I’d like to welcome you to my blog–and other resources therein–if you are interested in an honest approach to Ayn Rand and Objectivism.

3. nike - March 2, 2011

Leave a Reply

