jump to navigation

Customer Service January 27, 2007

Posted by sdpurtill in Business, Family, Life.
trackback

I entitle this post “Customer Service” because I have learned a lot about how to treat your “customers” in the last few weeks. I’ve found that the best way to learn how to treat your customers is just by watching my grandparents. Yeah, who woulda thought? I spend the night at their house almost every week when I’m down in Mountain View, so I see them quite a bit. There have been a few things that I have learned:

#1) Cold Mornings
I was freezing one morning so I [jokingly] said I felt like I woke up on the top of a ski resort because it was so damn cold. The next time I was there, I woke up and apparently they had hired the guys that supply oil to heat hell or something; I was burning — It was great!!

#2) Jalapeno Bagel
Every morning when I wake up, they make me breakfast. One morning I mentioned how much the Jalapeno bagels at Noah’s Bagels RULE (they really do). So I woke up the other morning and a Jalapeno bagel from Noah’s Bagels magically appeared on my plate. At first I didn’t believe it, so I looked again. Yeah, it really was a Jalapeno bagel from Noah’s. This is really great service… I think I’ll stay at this place again! 😀

#3) DSL
They were stuck in the stone ages for… ever… So they’ve finally gotten DSL after I suggested it would be easier to get work done if they paid an extra $5 a month for a connection that is 2,000,000,000,000 times faster. :p
So how does any of this apply to customer service? Well, your customers are your business; you are only as strong as your “weakest” customer (people tend to tell more people how much they hate a certain product rather than one they would recommend). For my grandparents, they want happy grandkids. Grandkids make a suggestion, grandparents figure out how to please them (too bad parents aren’t like that).

This completely applies to founding a startup. For the past few months, I have been asking tons of people to give me suggestions on how to make *********** better (will announce this in the next few months). And guess what? It’s paid off. I could have never built a product to where it is today, there have been tons of people that have helped me make it better. They say 1 can take an army of 10, and 2 an army of 100. What about 3? 4? 5? When you involve your end user (the customer) in the building/evolution of a product, you are almost sure to have a better product that will appeal to more people. Which means: sells more, sells faster, has more potential to be…

“the next big thing”

🙂

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

