jump to navigation

Internet Privacy January 1, 2007

Posted by sdpurtill in Google, Rants.
trackback

I am sick and tired of listening to people that know nothing about technology talk about how scared they are of their privacy being intruded upon by the internet. Most of this fear comes from the lack of knowledge about the threat that the majority of these companies pose to them.

 The two companies that I would like to talk about in this post are Google and Facebook. Both companies track almost everything that user’s do on their sites: the search queries, the time a person logs in, the computers he logs in from (from IP addresses), the “status updates” on Facebook, etc… Just about everything that could be tracked is tracked on these two sites. Just as a side note, there is a new Flash analytics tool (I forget the name right now) that creates and saves arrays of the mouse movements, so [Flash] websites can be optimized for better navigations and content. Anyways, back to the subject. I stopped caring about my online privacy a long time ago… A long time ago being defined as the moment I realized the threat these companies posed to my life. Google and Facebook are viable companies; I mean come on, Google’s motto is “do no evil.”

Facebook tracks everything that you do on their site, but it just creates an interesting experience for me every time I login. I can see every single little thing that my friends have done since I last signed in. Technology is leading to a world where everyone can know everything about everybody. Sound scary? If you’re a bad person. I could care less — I’ll do everything I do in private in public. It’s not like I have anything to hide. So why do you even care if Google is storing all of your search queries? Do you have something to hide?

Another thing I would say is put it in perspective. How many searches are done on Google every day? Nearly 100 million. And out of the 100 million, what are they going to do with the 20 searches that you did? Exactly. Nothing.

So whatever. Who cares about your online privacy.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

