jump to navigation

Applying to colleges takes soo much time December 13, 2006

Posted by sdpurtill in Books, College.
trackback

I’ve redefined writer’s block: for the last three days, I have been trying to think of what to write for the Stanford 2007 Long Essay. It finally came to me tonight, so I am in the middle of writing a [hopefully] compelling enough piece of writing that an admissions officer who reads it will get tricked into thinking I’m smart and let me in :p. I don’t deserve to get into Stanford based off of my scholastic achievements, so my essays are extra important.

Ah, yes, the title of my post: not that the actualy applying to college takes a lot of time, but the psychological trauma of the fear of not getting into any of the colleges I apply to is weighing heavily on my productivity these days.

Do they have therapy for post-application-depression? I’m going to need a good dose of it if they do… 😀

I caught up on a ton of reading in Tahoe: I finished Built to Last, and read Freakonomics in two days. Freakonomics is one of the funnest books I’ve ever read, I highly recommend it for anyone wanting to kill some time — it’s not that long, about 200 pages, and can be read through really fast.

Comments»

1. alayna - December 16, 2006

Sam, I truly feel that you have nothing to worry about. Have a little faith in yourself for crying out loud! You’re smart. How come that is the only thing you aren’t totally arrogant about? Yet it’s true. I think you have your egotistical priorities out of order. lol If that makes any sense at all. 😛 Well, good luck with that. I’m almost positive you’ll do fine.

2. counterstr - February 1, 2008

Leave a Reply

