jump to navigation

Atlas Shrugged November 6, 2006

Posted by sdpurtill in Books.
trackback

I started Atlas Shrugged on September 26 and I finished it today, I think it took about a month and a half or so. Anyways, I would like to write a little bit about what I have learned. I would recommend this book to any entity with a pulse… Seriously.

The first thing I learned was the “virtue” of selfishness. A lot of people disagree with Ayn Rand’s writings, but I think she is completely right on this topic. In the book, it says over and over again this quote —

I swear–by my life and my love of it–that I will never live for the sake of another man, nor ask another man to live for mine.

I understand all the arguments that people would have against this statement, but I think that if everyone looked out for themselves instead of relying on the charity of others, we would have a much, much more productive society.

John Galt’s 60 page monologue was the most mind blowing passage I have ever read. There was so much philosophy in his speach that it took me over 4 days to get through the whole of it.

One thing that John Galt says in his speech is this (my version of it). When someone says “Who am I to know?”, they are saying “Who am I to exist?”. I’ve been thinking about that a lot lately, and I love what it entails — people need to think for themselves. Her whole philosophy of a zero ruling non-zeros blew my mind, but it made so much sense. Another thing that I loved was in his speech —

The desire not to be anything is the desire not to be.

I would not only highly recommend this book to anyone, but I’ll buy this book for anyone that wants to read it. I am going to re-read this book every other year for the rest of my life (alternating years w/ The Fountainhead), because it has so much to say about life, happiness, work, love, etc… Objectivism makes a helluva lot of sense, but I still believe in God and Christianity.

Her whole philosophy about those who rule by force is freaking GENIUS. People in Venezuela need to get their hands on a copy of Atlas Shrugged before that country is destroyed by Hugo Chavez.

Comments»

1. Chris - November 28, 2006

I discovered Ayn Rands the Fountainhead when i was 14, because my unlce recommended it to me. At first some of the ideas seemed fairly strange, i was fairly young and it was a mindshatering experience. It gave me a whole new view on life. I immediately picked up Atlas Shrugged and Anthem, Both of which are amazing, particularyl Atlas Shrugged. I read a pasage from Atlas Shrugged any time i need a bit of motivation.
Be prepared though for you will definetly have to defend your ideas ,as alot of people do not agree with Mrs. Rands philosophy. They say her arguments are false, and that it creates an anti-social world. I believe it creates quite the opposite. Any book that makes me feel I can conquer the world, that i can achieve anything, and that this existance is filled with meaning is a good book to me, whether or not it can stand up to other philosophies. The crowning achievement which i believe rand deserves is an end to the most destructive philosophy ever. Nihilism, which is prominant in so many classical philosophies from Plato to Kant, to Kierkagard. It warms my heart to see more people discover her wonderful ideas.


Leave a Reply

