jump to navigation

Did I go to school today? September 13, 2006

Posted by sdpurtill in High School.
trackback

Every year seems exactly the same, I’m already into the routine. Block schedule 8-10, 10-12, 12:30-2:30. Classes become blurs, days become blurs, weeks become blurs, until you’re at the end of the quarter. Another fourth of the way there. The end of the first quarter is already just a month or so away, and I feel like we’re just beginning in every class.

I just got out of the bathroom (which means I was sitting there reading) and I tried to remember anything that happened at school today. I forgot what classes I even went to today. I have no idea what I learned. When you get into the routine of school, classes start to fly by so fast. I sit in class listening for the first ten minutes, then zone out and think of other stuff I could be doing for the next hour and a half, then come back to earth for the final ten. Not good, but it’s how I make it through every day without killing myself with boredom. Then I come home and have to go through the drudgery of homework. I think school should be left at school. We shouldn’t be working 12 hours a day in high school (school = 6 hours, homework = 2 hours, job = 4 hours+).

This all just seems like a waste of time. What’s the point of taking classes that are completely erroneous to not only your college major, but waste memory in your brain. At the end of the day, my brain is filled with so much useless crap that I wish I could drain it somehow. Why do I need to take AP Psychology and Government if my college major is Business/Econ ??? I understand why I’m taking Trig, AP Stats, Spanish (bleh), and English 12. But AP Psychology and Government really blow my mind.

Being a well “rounded individual” is a bunch of BS too. When I hire employees for Okapi, I want them to be good at ONE thing, and ONLY one thing. Whether it be developing, designing, or marketing. I don’t need a personal that can “do everything,” because those are the people that are decent at a lot of things, but aren’t great at one thing. Which is exactly what the public school system is turning out; kids that are decent at a lot of subjects, but not extremely skilled in one.

Whatever, I’m just pissed off right now. I just feel like High School is wasting my time. And after this, I’m going to need to get college over with so I can start REAL LIFE. You can learn all you want, but at the end of the day, if you don’t take your head knowledge and apply it to real life, you’re just wasting time and brain space.

Bleh.

Comments»

1. ttparker - September 16, 2006

I agree with your statements above. BUT i do believe it is good to be a well rounded individual outside of work. You should try to be the best at what you do, but in life i believe it is good to look at things from all perspectives and soak everything up you can, and in doing this it will benefit you in your work also

2. A Bunch of Posts on Education « 31fps - February 4, 2007

Leave a Reply

