jump to navigation

The public high school system August 30, 2006

Posted by sdpurtill in High School, Rants.
trackback

School is back. Classes from 8:00-2:30 every day.

I wake up every morning around 7:00 with another long, boring day of school ahead of me. I grew up in private school, so public school is quite a change for me. Here are a few things that I wish I could change in the system.

#1 – If there are kids in classes that don’t want to be there, kick them out

They not only waste their time, but the time of 30 other kids. Give the students 1 chance to change after they are kicked out of the class the first time, but the second time don’t let them come back.

#2 – Offer technology classes that are at a college level

I can attest to the fact that teenagers aren’t stupid when it comes to technology. We shouldn’t have to wait until college to take Computer Science classes. If I had a dream school, I would have entire courses for students to learn programming languages. I would have a Flash course, PHP course, Ruby on Rails course, Java course, and JavaScript course. Students would become extremely good at programming, and could work on real world web applications if they knew the languages.

#3 – No homework

High Schoolers don’t do it anyways. Plus all the web developers at the school don’t need another distraction :p
#4 – A winter break that is a month and a half

Students would get out of school December 14 and come back February 1. This would give students a chance to get out in the real world and work on web applications instead of focusing so much on school. Completely necessary; students need to apply the things they’ve done in school or else they’ll forget it.

Plus that gives students a month and a half to ski at Alpine Meadows šŸ™‚

#5 – The school should have companies that support the school

If I was the principal, I would try to recruit the best designers, video editors and web developers. Start your own media company, and the company’s revenue would go directly back into the school.

I don’t know if any of this is possible, I know I’ll probably never work in the education industry. But if I had a chance to start a private school, that’s what it would be like.

Comments»

1. kabababrubarta - March 27, 2007

Good site! kabababrubarta


Leave a Reply

