jump to navigation

Second Life July 3, 2006

Posted by sdpurtill in Uncategorized.
trackback

After reading a lot of posts from Robert Scoble about Second Life, I decided to open up my own account and see what the hype is all about.

Sadly, I’m 17, so I had to sign up for the Teen version of the game. There are a few things I would like to say about Second Life.

1) The world isn’t ready for this game yet. The graphics suck (mostly bandwidth limitations I suppose). The game streams excruciatingly slow. We need to wait until AT&T and Verizon lay down the lines for 25MBPS connections.

2) No teens play it! I saw two people the entire time I was on; I tried talking to them, but they were too busy… doing nothing.

3) The graphics suck. (#1). It’s the year 2006, not 1998. We notice when graphics have no depth; we notice when you can walk through brick walls; we notice big blocks of green and gray that is supposed to look like grass and concrete. Not cool. The game sucks, I’m going to cancel my account.

Hopefully Linden Labs will find a way to make the graphics nicer and speed up the streaming. It will be tough. But I will give Linden Labs a round of applause for being the first successful company to build a virtual life application that involves real money.

Good stuff.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

